jump to navigation

It’s like nothing I ever could have imagined. August 15, 2009 Saturday

Posted by mrvangeldren in Family, Summer Vacation.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback
8.15.09

8.15.09

“Was this week everything you imagined,” my cousin asked as we drove home. It was my last day in Atlantic City and I could honestly tell her that this week was everything I imagined and more. I jokingly said, though, that this week is nothing I ever dreamed of. I couldn’t believe what had happened in the past week, it wasn’t anything spectacular but in my mind this simple family togetherness helped me out a lot.

Like I had said before, I had been waiting for a big family vacation and I got the best one. The food, the games, the laughter and the late night walking and made this week something that I will never forget. I had not laughed so much for simple things in such a long time. I have been honestly been not so happy and sad at the same time.

I was so glad that I had been spending time with my family, but at the same time reality hit me. I had to go home and return to the same periodic schedule. Nothing was spontaneous. I would wake up and I would hope for an invitation to hang out. As usual, I would try to make plans with my close friends, but to no avail they would cancel. I have been so sick of the no’s and I am not in the mood from them, but I have gotten used to the feeling. I have been hanging out with new people.

This feeling as the old cliche goes, is bittersweet.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

